top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Fenty Foundation

I have been waring the Fenty foundation for a full week now and I find myself trying to convince myself that I love it. I pride myself in being honest with people and giving my honest opinion about a product. Before things get out of hand let me explain my experience with this foundation.

Like everyone else, I applaud Fenty Beauty for creating 40 shades in foundation...when people say that anyone can find their shade I can say that many people can find a shade that will work with their skin tone. This foundation claims to be a natural matte finish with medium to full coverage. The other claim this foundation makes is that it looks like flawless skin.

I find that this foundation is definitely natural looking and medium coverage. I have tried to build it up around areas I need more coverage and I find that no matter how I apply it or how much I apply I don't get full coverage from it. It is a runnier and thin consistency and I find that it applies best with a brush. I used it with my beauty blender and found that the sponge absorbed so much of the product and reduced the amount of coverage the foundation offered. I do find that this foundation makes my skin look even, natural and almost filtered. So, why am I having a hard time loving this you ask?

I need slightly more coverage than this product offers but I would definitely be able to look past the coverage issue if it wore better. I find that after 5 hours the foundation looks like it's faded some and the coverage is much less than when you initially apply it. I have found that the best results have required me to use a mattifying primer, powder my face before the foundation application AND powder my face after the foundation. I noticed that when I took time to do these additional steps I would get a wear time of 7 hours BUT would still notice some reduction in the coverage.

This foundation works with combination, normal and oily skin. If you are on the drier side or have texture on your skin you may want to be cautious with this product. There have been several bloggers that state that this foundation oxidizes but in reality it does not. What you will experience is the actual product drying down to it's true color so this will require you to go in store and get matched. I still suggest letting the foundation dry before choosing a shade because it does deepen.

This foundation sells for $38 dollars and have 1.08 fluid oz. You are getting more than the standard 1oz that most cosmetic lines give you but if you're looking for more coverage you may end up using more than 1 or 2 pumps. Overall, I do like the foundation but don't consider it to be a must have item. It is beautiful and if you have nearly flawless skin this will look stunning on you. If you have hyper pigmentation, scarring, or texture you may have an issue with the coverage. I have noticed that this will even out my complexion but will not cover the hyper pigmentation on my face.

bottom of page